The Yeldell Family (Through My Eyes)











{September 3, 2012}   Meeting Mattie’s grandchildren and great grandchildren

my mom and her cousins

It was by mistake how I met Ulysses Freeman.  I was calling Springfield Baptist church in Edgefield SC for possible records on my grandparents wedding and to see if there was a marker or headstone placed on the gravesite.  The secretary Dorothy Ryan (niece to our Aunt Essie Senior-Ryan but that’s another story) told me there were no records from weddings as early as 1913 but she directed me to Ulysses Freeman as far as learning about the gravesite.  So I called Ulysses and I told him what I wanted.  He said sure I can help you what were their names.  I told him my grandmother is Annie Mae Yeldell and my grandfather is Jefferson Davis Yeldell.  There was a pause and then he said “Jeff Yeldell my daddy had an uncle name Jeff Yeldell.”  Then I paused.  I asked him what was your father’s parents name” he said Mattie and Nathaniel Freeman.  I was shocked Mattie was my grandfather’s sister.

On November 19, 2011, I wrote on the blog about finding two of  my granddaddy’s siblings Mattie Yeldell-Freeman and Gary Yeldell.  Well on September 2, 2012 one year shy of writing that post the Yeldell’s of DC met our Aunt Mattie Freeman’s grandchildren.   We met her son Cleveland’s children Ulysses, Lutricia and Brenda.  This wasn’t the first time the Yeldell’s and the Freeman’s met.  As a matter of fact out of the five siblings granddaddy has Mattie’s children are the only other Yeldell’s that we have known before.  Peter, Katie and Oscar Freeman used to visit my mom and her siblings when my grandfather was still alive.  Katie even lived with the Yeldell’s of DC for a little while.

Its been 48 years since my grandfather died and my family lost contact with Peter, Katie and Oscar. So bringing that family back into our lives was definitely a blessing.  I don’t think Ulysses and I ever really talked about the grave site but I am sure we will because we have promised each other to never lose touch.   It was very brief but yesterday we met Ulysses and his wife Alberta, his two daughters Tonjua and Tamiya and Tamiya’s husband Charles Fisher.  We also met Ulysses sisters Brenda and her husband Charles Behlin and Lutricia.  New Yeldell’s that lived right here in the DC area that we didn’t know were in attendance as well.  Shirley Yeldell and her husband James and their daughter Pastor Charlene Ivey and her son James Ivey.

Tears are just pouring from my eyes.



Dog Yoga says:

I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome blog!
Welcome to my site http://www.about-dogs.zoomshare.com.



I thank you for reading my blog but I honestly don’t see how you can write for me when it is my personal experience that I am writing about. but I thank you for your support and I hope you continue to read my post.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
