The Yeldell Family (Through My Eyes)











{June 14, 2012}   Metrie’s story

Thirteen years ago today I had a beautiful baby boy. He didn’t cry alot (maybe not at all) walked early (7 months old)

was very close to the people he was around the most and could ignore you better than anybody I have ever seen in my life. I knew that although it didn’t look like it at the surface there was something different about him.  So at 9 months old I asked his doctor to have him tested. I personally thought he was deaf. She told me that at his age it was too soon to have him tested for anything but at 15 months old if things had not changed then the testing would begin.  So at 15 months old Demetrius went through a series of test.  These tests went on for months.  About 7 months if I had to give a number.  When the results came in it wasn’t what I thought but something that I thought at the time was much worse.  My son was diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Disorder or PDD.

What is PDD? It is a group of disorders characterized by delays in the development of socialization and communication skills.  Autism (a developmental brain disorder characterized by impaired social interaction and communication skills, and a limited range of activities and interests) is the most characteristic and best studied PDD. Other types of PDD include Asperger’s Syndrome, Childhood Disintegrative Disorder, and Rett’s Syndrome. Children with PDD vary widely in abilities, intelligence, and behaviors. Some children do not speak at all, others speak in limited phrases or conversations, and some have relatively normal language development. Repetitive play skills and limited social skills are generally evident. Unusual responses to sensory information, such as loud noises and lights, are also common.  When I first heard this I thought I would die.  I thought his life would be so hard and I would have to live forever to protect him from the horrible people in the world. He couldn’t talk so we were going to have to learn sign language. I really thought whatever the worse that could happen with him; would happen with him.

The Maryland school system was very instrumental in the last phases of his testing and they were the ones who gave me his diagnosis.  They were also the ones who gave me hope.  They immediately started in-home schooling with Demetrius and by the time he was two years old (two months after his diagnosis) Metrie spoke his first word, it was Mayonnaise. We were so excited.  He didn’t even give us the chance to learn past the basic please, excuse me and thank you of sign language.  It was amazing. My baby started school and excelled he got better and better every year.  There are meetings his dad and I attended called Individualized Education Program or IEP for short that provided a detailed view of how they would help him in learn in school.  It provided services like giving him breaks in class or a dedicated assistant to help him during a class if he needed it.  Demetrius was blessed with great teachers who took great interest in him. He was aware early when he couldn’t handle things and he had no problem telling the principle of one school that he attended that he was not focused enough to work alone.  He was seven when he said that. With the exception of maybe one maryland school I have cried knowing he had to leave it.  I always wanted his teachers to come with him.  It is such a blessing because they really are following him and keeping tabs on him.

Now here were are 13 years later. He is the best reader in his class, an excellent speller and gets upset if he gets a C on his report card. I used to think that I would have to protect Demetrius more than I do my other children but he is teaching me that he is going to be just fine.  Happy Birthday Demetrius I am so VERY proud of you and the young man you are becoming.  You will do great things in this world.  I love you.

DeMetria says:

Donya beautiful and full of education that so many people need



Regina Scott Brooks says:

Happy Birthday Metrie!!!!

You are birthday twins with my firstborn, my daughter BriAnna!! I pray that today brings you all the joy and happiness your heart can hold!

Sending you JSU Tiger love from Wisconsin ~ Regina



Dashaun says:

Donya,

This is beautifully written and can help many of parents. Now, I need some tissue to wipe my tears. Happy Bithday Metrie!!! I love you



Chrystal says:

Happy Birthday, Metrie! You are so inspiring! May your years continue to be awesomely blessed.



Candace says:

a beautiful tribute to both your son and to his teachers. As the mom of an Aspergers child who went through school before the syndrome was being diagnosed, I was so frustrated. I knew something was different that hampered my child’s social development, but she was just labeled quirky by everyone. Your son will be able to accomplish the things my daughter feels both unwilling and unable to do. Congratulations to you both.



I have a nephew with autiusm. He s 5’9″ age 14. Family members will hurt anyone who tries to hurt.He functions on the on the same level as your son. They both are better young men than these so called normal folks. We are all blessed to have him.



Andrea K says:

Happy Birthday to your beautiful young man! This was written with such love. Just beautiful!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
