The Yeldell Family (Through My Eyes)











{February 1, 2012}   My Millie

I am going to start this with a joke because I know it is going to end in tears.  My Family is big.   Really? how big is it? My family is so big that I got an email from someone by mistake and now it is possible that he is my family.  That’s a true story.  So being that big it is not shocking to have first cousins growing up with second cousins.  That’s what Camille was supposed to be to me my second cousin.

 

Ok so this is going to be a long Black History month.  She was far from being that. My Camille known and loved by so many.  There were five cousins that she always kept in touch with and I am so fortunate to be one of those five.  Her impact in my life is probably as significant as my mom’s is and that is saying alot.  She cheered me up when I was down, she made me feel good about myself. I don’t remember alot from my Aunt Margaret’s funeral but I know that it was sad and very hard on my mom.  I know that I was with Millie when we went to do the processional from my aunt’s house to the church.  The car was really silent and very sad.  She was around thirteen or fourteen years old and was sitting up front in the passenger seat.  I was sitting behind her.  We opened the doors at that the sametime and when we stepped out she looked at our legs and said and the yeldell women made the boys paused as they stepped out of the car. I laughed at her really hard.
Camille was very special. She listened to me she understood me she was truly beyond being just my cousin. I still cry for her sometimes.  There is not a day that goes by that I don’t think of her.  Sometimes I wonder if I am letting her rest.  When she passed those five cousins sat around and talked about her.  While we talked there was one that wrote.  When we finished we had a story that covered her entire life from beginning to end.  There are at least six spokes in a wheel she was definitely our sixth spoke.
This time this moment is for you Millie your influence in my life has been wonderful and you continue it through your daughters.  I promise to love them and to be available to them any way that I can.
Leave a Reply

et cetera
