The Yeldell Family (Through My Eyes)











{May 13, 2010}   Melvin Duncan and the Yeldells

Before I get into the connection between Melvin and the Yeldell’s I would like to plan a bus trip to Edgefield, SC. If you are interested please let me know. The trip can be like a trip to AC but instead of money you winning you are learning your history and that to me is worth a lot more. Now, you remember when I told you about Melvin Duncan and how he had a family tree that had all of the original 13. Well he contacted me finally and explained the connection. It seems that Uncle John married three times. For those that don’t know he is the second oldest child. His first wife Fannie father was named Percy Jernigan. Now Percy had a sister by the name of Ellen and Ellen is Melvin’s grandmother. So that is how he is connected to us. He is not a direct cousin to us all but he is a cousin to one of us. For those that know the DC yeldells when you are a cousin to one you are a cousin to all. Stay tuned for information.

Candace Wellman says:

Hello to all the D.C. Yeldells from a Washington State Yeldell. Donya just found me today and this has been my first visit to her blog. I have been to Edgefield and done research there, as well as visit the Yeldell farm and cemetery that date back to 1804. It was a spirit-changing shock to find that my ancestors could be people who had owned other people, and it is still difficult for me and my cousins to accept. Everyone likes to think their ancestors were nice people. We are, however, thrilled to find more cousins. It seems to be that all of the U.S. Yeldells stem from only one immigrant. Donya and I will be working together on family history and I hope that me and my 3rd/4th cousin Judy can help us pull it all together.



tammy says:

Cool!



Judy Hibbert says:

Hi to the D.C. Relatives!!
I was in Edgefield Co, S. C. in March, 2010 and saw the house and tombstone where William and Mary Yeldell lived and were buried. It was really exciting to think I could find my relatives. Jasper Yeldell is the youngest son of Wm and Mary. My relative was the oldest son John William Yeldell. Hope to hear from you. Judy



Gwendolyn Robinson says:

WOW!!This is amzing!!!I can’t believe it!I’m so EXCITED!!! Candace and Judy,we Cant wait to meet you guys!!Its so nice to be able to connect to lost family.It is truly an honor to know that you all are just as excited and happy about the dicoveries that we’ve uncovered.this is one of the best feelings in the world.



Candace Wellman says:

Hi Gwendolyn, nice to ‘meet’ you. I am corresponding with Donya and am delighted and honored by your family’s invitation to dinner and a chat when I’m in D.C. in September. It will be way cool to meet everyone and I look forward to seeing you.

I might also add for others who read the blog, that the Yeldell clan of America appears to go back to only one immigrant. So any Yeldells that you locate anywhere are going to be part of the bigger family, which is very convenient for doing genealogy. The Smiths of America should be so lucky.



Judy Hibbert says:

We have pictures of the farm house. So if we get to meet you, we’ll have lots to talk about.



OH WOW JUDY!!!! you have to send me the pictures I would love to post them on my Ancestry site and use them for the blog. Are you coming here in september as well.?



Candace Wellman says:

I was in Edgefield some years ago, before someone knocked over and broke the tombstone at the farm, so I have photos of it intact. I have photos also of the part of the cemetery where the slaves were buried, I think, though there were no stones placed there, or for any other of the white Yeldells. These are not digital files, but I can get copies and send them. Or I can face my new printer/scanner head-on and force myself to learn how to scan and send. The Yeldell home was also a stop on the early 1800s National Road [read that as ‘trail’] that settlers took down to the South as the Indians were pushed out and land opened up. The oxen wagons would stop at every place with a well that they could. The Yeldells bought an established stop about 1804. I’ll have to check that date to be sure. The well is still visible in the yard, as are the worn wagon tracks which resist all attempts to grown grass over them. There was a small supply store for the travelers, and the upstairs in the house was used as an informal hotel. I have photos also of the interior of the house, especially things that were original to it.



GOD !!!!! you guys have everything I have been looking for. I CAN’T WAIT!!!!!



ROB YELDELL says:

I AM THE SON OF THE J.C.YELDELL BORN IN EDGEFIELD,S.C. AND WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM YOU? ROB



You will be getting an email from me shortly



Leave a Reply

et cetera
