The Yeldell Family (Through My Eyes)











{May 5, 2010}   The Beginning of The DC Yeldell’s

My name is Donya Williams but my mom is a Yeldell.  She is the last born of 14 children.  Growing up I saw how proud my family was of its name.  As I got older I saw why they were so proud.  My grandparents Jefferson and Annie Mae Yeldell had come to DC and paved a good road for their family.  They were deep in the growth of DC.  They founded a church, possibly had a hand in the negro woman’s council even new famous singers like Aretha Franklin.  They had 6 strong men and 7 beautiful girls who had body’s and legs that would and (from stories I heard) did stop traffic.  They were all extremely intelligent and talented in any way you could think of.  If one couldn’t handle a task there was always one that could.  Yes the Yeldell’s grew to be a proud an influential Black Family in the District of Columbia.  But with all of that pride no one asked the question how they got started?  Where they came from?  If the original 13 asked they never shared with those that were to follow.

So one day I asked my mom about her sister Lula’s side of the family.  See Lula was the fifth oldest child and had four shy of 13 kids like her parents.  Her family is the bulk of Jeff and Annie’s grandchildren.  So in or around 1996 her family was celebrating the five generations of women.  I thought that was amazing and I asked my mom exactly how many children and grandchildren she had.  My mom called her and we counted 9 children, 24 grand children, 42 great grand children and I think about 4 great great grand children at that time.  I was amazed…not just at the amount of children but at the fact that my mom and she were able to call off all of those names.

Any way a few years passed and I started thinking again just how big my immediate family was.  I mean we were so big that we couldn’t be like most families where you stop counting after third cousins.  Hell third cousins were growing up with fourth cousins so it just didn’t happen.  So I called my mother again and we created a family list.  When we got finish my grand parents had almost 400 hundred offsprings.  I was SHOCKED!!!!  The list was so big and there were so many names unknown. I mean we knew the children existed we just didn’t know there names. So two years ago I started a family reunion. They both turned out to be nice but it never really got off the way I would have liked.

So it is a year later my Aunt Lula is gone along with my Uncle Rob and my Aunt Evelyn. Out of the fabulous 13 there are only three left. Joseph, Josephine and Juanita (my mommy). Maybe it is a spirit pushing this on or me knowing my children need to know their family but I started up again on who my family is. I logged into ancestry.com and did a search on my grandfather. In the course of a weekend I found his parents, four out of eight of his siblings, his parents parents (on both sides) and the all famous connection to the large number of white yeldells. I was amazed, shocked and overall thrilled. I started to share my info with my family and possibly extended family on facebook. And thought to myself this is a lot. Maybe I should blog about it…

Lois Thomas-Ewings says:

We have some family connection to the Yeldell’s. TheTalberts, who are also from Edgefield Co., SC – McCormick, SC – one of them married into your family. I am the decendant of Margart Yeldell and Nero Talbert who were former slaves. They had about 15 children. Now, Margart, which I am not sure how to spell her name, looked half white and indian mixed. The Talbert family have photos of her. Also, the Talbert Family Reunion will be hosted in Washington, D.C. in 2012. You may friend request Curtis Gilchrist on Facebook or myself, Lois Thomas-Ewings so that we can become better acquainted. Have a blessed day.



Donya ,
you are doing a very great service for your family..
sign :Curtis Gilchrist ,Great ,Great grandson of Margaret Yeldell Talbert.



Vincent Lee Talbert says:

This is very special and I’m glad to be a part of this family. I am the Great Great grandson of Nero and Margeret Yeldell Talbert and proud of it.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
