The Yeldell Family (Through My Eyes)











{April 29, 2013}   What do you do?

When I started this journey I did so with my eyes open.  I knew the things that I would find; like slavery, rape and possibly incest.  It is expected given the time period, the small town my family was from and the closeness of African Americans during the slavery time.  They were truly all that each other had.  I prepared my mind for everything.  Little did I know that although you take the precautions, you meet the slave owners but there is no amount of preparation that can be done when you find the incest.

Now I am not going to divulge which family this happened with, but knowing that all of the people that I have found are not further than 3rd cousins (dead or alive) it truly bothers me. I pose this question to fellow Genealogist.  WHAT DO YOU DO?  How do you react when you know the family members that this has happened with? What do you do when you know there are others that are researching that same group and they find this information and come to you for confirmation?  How do you answer those questions?

My nerves are bad but in the same instance conducting this type of research helps you to stop these types of instances from happening at least knowingly.  Being faced with all of these questions and more would deter some people.  I know that even if I wanted to stop here I couldn’t because my ancestors have more to say.  So to all of my fellow genealogist What do you do?  comments and opinions are truly wanted.

Until Next Time…



This is one of the topics I think has to be handled on a case by case basis on how you go about handling it. I believe this happened in my family too a few generations back (I don’t have conclusive proof but to me it appears to have happened) I have chosen to keep this matter private. No one in the family has asked about it and I don’t even think anyone really knows because it is a few generations back. It is not in my direct line but on one of my offshoots. If someone asks, I will cross that bridge when I come to it. I would say go with your gut on what feels right.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 875 other followers

